Tuesday, November 11

Joanne Arnott + Michael Kenyon

Joanne Arnott

West Coast writer and arts activist, author of eight books of poetry

Joanne Arnott is a Canadian Métis/mixed-blood writer & arts activist, originally from Manitoba, at home on the west coast. Her book Wiles of Girlhood won the League of Canadian Poets’ Gerald Lampert Award (1992). She has published essays and poetry in many anthologies, and eight further books, including Halfling spring: an internet romance (Kegedonce, 2014), A Night for the Lady (Ronsdale, 2013), Mother Time (Ronsdale, 2007), and steepy mountain love poetry (Kegedonce, 2004). Active with the Aboriginal Writers Collective West Coast, The Writers Union of Canada, and The Writers' Trust, she is a grand multipara, a mentor and a blogger. 


More >

Michael Kenyon

Acclaimed author of four books of poetry, including Astatine (Brick Books, 2014)

Michael Kenyon was born in Sale, England, and has lived on the West Coast since 1967. His four books of poetry include The Sutler (Brick Books, 2005), The Last House (Brick Books, 2009) and Astatine (forthcoming from Brick Books in 2014). His work has been shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers' Prize, the SmithBooks/Books in Canada First Novel Award, the Baxter Hathaway Prize in fiction, The Malahat Review Novella Prize, PRISM international's fiction contest, the Journey Prize, the National and the Western Magazine Awards. He divides his week between Pender Island and Vancouver, having in both places a private therapeutic practice.


More >